The president was Dr. Litt. Manuel S. Leyva Martinez. 


The celebration of World Poetry XIX Congress of the WAAC was developed in the port city of Acapulco; the event was attended by poets and writers from Asia, Europe and America. 



This WCP was relevant for the celebration of the bicentennial of the founding of the Port of Acapulco and the 150 anniversary of the erection of the State of Guerrero. The Congress gave homage to writer Octavio Paz, Nobel Laureate in Literature, The Floral Games were dedicated to him and his photo mural was placed in the auditorium during the week of this great literary event. 


The main authorities of the State Government dignitaries and representatives of cultural institutions of the State of Guerrero and the Mexican nation attended the opening and closing gala ceremonies - To raise awareness of the folklore and tourist sites internationally renowned, all writers, poets and special guests made tours in the city and at the end of the Congress a choice of tours to Acapulco, Guadalajara, Mexico and the State of Yucatan, were offered.

Organizing Committee of the XIX World Congress of Arts and Culture




President: Manuel S. Leyva Martinez

Secretary. - Rosa Martha Muñúzuri

Treasurer. - Miguel Angel Vela Lepez

Public Relations. - Elizabeth Rivera Leyva

Members. - White Queen Aguirre

Members. - Nancy Maldonado Uzcanga

Members. - Alberto Diaz Bello

Voice of Peace and Severe Huerta

Members. - Hugo Zuniga

Members. - Linnett Bergeret Muñoz




President. Lic Ernesto Zedillo Ponce de León.

President Constl. Mexico.




Mr. René Juárez Cisneros.

Governor Constl. State of Guerrero.


Vocal. Ana Maria Castilleja.




Rosemary C. Wilkinson, President W.A.A.C.

Karl Bernard, Advisor for Life.